Skip to main content

Phillips Award in Ethics Essay Contest

Generously supported by the Phillips, Samuels, Victor fund

2017—2018 Guidelines

The Phillips Award in Ethics is presented annually to an undergraduate student from Dartmouth College who has successfully demonstrated strength and interest in applied and professional ethics. Work may be in specific areas, such as medical or legal ethics, or in the broader arena of ethics applied to public life. A $500 prize is awarded to the winning paper.

The prize was established in 1990 by Gerald Phillips ('47), (Tuck '47) and Howard Phillips ('51), (Tuck '52) to honor their parents and by Stacy Phillips ('80) to honor her grandparents, Helen and Louis Phillips.

  • Essays/papers or projects must be completed during the past calendar year (Spring '17 term through the Spring '18 term).
  • Deadline for submission is Friday May 18, 2018. Papers or projects must be typed, single-spaced, with all citations and references clearly noted.
  • Minimum page length (12 point font): 10 pages.
  • Theses or final papers for courses may be submitted for consideration.
  • Include a brief cover letter with submission that includes your name, year, major, phone number, how, where and when we may contact you, and any other relevant information (i.e., your particular interests in applied and professional ethics, previous related work experiences and courses, etc.)
  • Your name may appear on the cover page only. Our office will remove your cover and put a numerical code on your paper. Submissions will be judged anonymously.
  • The winning essay/paper or project report may be reproduced, in whole or in part, on the Ethics Institute's website.

Please submit papers via E-mail to: Ethics Institute


Phillips Prize Past Winners

2017 Winner, Peter Schroen, A Selfish Case for Moral Economic Decision Making

2016 Winner, Carly Schnitzler, "Food Insecurity and the Progressive Food Movement".

2015 Winner, Iris Liu, "Transitioning Care at the end of life: Quality Measure and the Affordable Care Act”

2014 Winner, Rebecca Dawn Finzi, "A Critique of Objections to Physician-Assisted Suicide"

2013 Winner, Megan Bunnell, "Righting the Shortage: An Ethical Reformation of the United States Kidney Transplant System"

"On campus, I founded an ethics and social interest discussion group that focuses on addressing and facilitating discussion about relevant ethical issues in the current medical community. Next year I am pursuing a dual masters in
Bioethics and Genetic Counseling at Northwestern University. Following my time at Northwestern, I hope to enter medical school. My specific interests surround infertility and issues in maternal and fetal medicine."


Questions or inquiries? Please contact the Ethics Institute

Last Updated: 2/13/18