Skip to main content

Northeast Regional Ethics Bowl 2010

Dartmouth Team

2010 Northeast Regional Ethics Bowl Dartmouth Team

(L-R Back) Zain Ul-Abideen '12, Jon Choi '11, Mimi Rich '12, Gina Greenwalt '14, Brendan Mooney '14, Michelle Shu '14, Mandy Bowers '14, Aine Donovan (coach)

(L-R Front) Svati Narula '13, Connie Shang '13

After weeks of preparation, intense discussions over many pizzas, the Dartmouth Ethics Bowl team was ready to compete in the 2010 Northeast Regional Ethics Bowl. The Ethics Bowl is a debate-style competition sponsored by the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics. This year’s Northeast Regional Ethics Bowl, hosted by the Ethics Institute, drew 20 teams representing seventeen schools from across the northeast ranging from Maryland to Montreal. Teams of undergraduates faced off in front of a panel of judges to debate a variety of ethical issues. The level of volunteerism for judges, moderators, score keepers, was amazing. Professors, local business leaders, graduate students, physicians, all gave an entire day to help make this regional ethics bowl one of the very best ever.

The Dartmouth team had a very successful morning. The eloquence of their arguments and thoroughness of their preparation enabled them to win all three of their morning rounds, only one other other team achieved this, and placed them in first at the start of the afternoon.

The afternoon proceeded much the same as the morning, though emotions ran higher and competition was fierce. Dartmouth won their Quarter Final round and their Semi Final round. It was only in the Final round against Stevens Institute of Technology that they realized they had met their match. Both teams performed admirably. The final scores- Dartmouth: 151 and Stevens: 153, making Stevens the Northeast Regional Ethics Bowl Champions.

The top four teams from the regional competition are invited to the National Ethics Bowl, held in March during the national conference of the Association of Practical and Professional Ethics. The conference will be held in Cincinnati, OH. The teams heading to the national competition are Dartmouth, Stevens Institute of Technology, Colgate University and Manhattan College.



Last Updated: 1/25/11