Course Information

Syllabus

Screenings

Shakespeare's Time

Chronology of Plays

Study Questions

Discussion Forum

Reserve List

Resource Links

Sample Essays
You should have read each play prior to each Monday's class meeting and be prepared to take a quiz. Screenings of each play are scheduled for Thursday evenings just prior to our Friday discussion class. The quiz each Monday is based on the play as printed in The Penguin Shakespeare editions.


Week 1: June 22
Week 2: June 25-29
Week 3: July 2-6
Week 4: July 9-13
Week 5: July 16-20

Week 6: July 23-27
Week 7: July 30-August 3
Week 8: August 6-10
Week 9: August 13-17
Week 10: August 20-22

Week 1

June 22 - Friday: Studying Shakespeare


The course, its requirements and materials. Using the website, library resources, and on-line resources.



Week 2

June 25 - Monday: The Comedy of Errors Quiz, Lecture
See also Thomas Hull's Edition of Comedy of Errors

June 27 - Wednesday: The Comedy of Errors Lecture, Discussion

June 29 - Friday: The Comedy of Errors Discussion



Week 3

July 2 - Monday: The Taming of the Shrew Quiz, Lecture

July 4 - Wednesday: Independence Day-No Class

July 6 - Friday: The Taming of the Shrew Lecture, Discussion



Week 4

July 9 - Monday: Richard III Quiz, Lecture: Peter Saccio
Another interesting web edition is The Richard III Society's Richard III

July 11 - Wednesday: Richard III Lecture: Peter Saccio

July 13 - Friday: No Class



Week 5

July 16 - Monday: No Class

July 18 - Wednesday: Henry V Quiz, Lecture
See a facsimile of Quarto 3 of Henry V from the Furness Library at the University of Pennsylvania

July 20 - Friday: Henry V Discussion



Week 6

July 23 - Monday: Merchant of Venice Quiz, Lecture

July 25 - Wednesday: Merchant of Venice Lecture, Discussion


Paper #1: Close Reading Exercise - Due in my Sanborn box by 3 PM.

July 27 - Friday: Merchant of Venice Discussion



Week 7

July 30 - Monday: Twefth Night Quiz, Lecture

August 1 - Wednesday: Twefth Night Lecture, Discussion

August 3 - Friday: Twefth Night Discussion



Week 8

August 6 - Monday: Hamlet Quiz, Lecture
Use The Enfolded Hamlet to compare Folio 1 with Quarto 2 versions.

August 8 - Wednesday: Hamlet Lecture, Discussion

August 10 - Friday: Hamlet Discussion


Paper #2: Critical Analysis - Due in my Sanborn mailbox by 3 PM.



Week 9

August 13 - Monday: Othello Quiz, Lecture

August 15 - Wednesday: Othello Lecture, Discussion

August 17 - Friday: Othello Discussion



Week 10

August 20 - Monday: Cymbeline Quiz, Lecture

August 22 - Wednesday: Cymbeline Lecture, Discussion