LiveStreaming at
8:30 - 9:00 AM Welcome Reception with coffee and pastries Haldeman Lobby
9:00 - 9:10 AM Opening Remarks Haldeman 41
9:15 - 9:45 AM "The Digital Humanities Today" Mary Flanagan, Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Professor in Digital Humanities, Dartmouth College Haldeman 41
9:45 - 10:00 AM Break Haldeman Lower Level Lobby
10:00 - 11:30 AM "The Net Effect: Capitalism, Passions, and the Social Construction of the Internet". Thomas Streeter, Associate Professor of Sociology, University of Vermont Haldeman 41
  "Folds of Longing on the Horizon of New Media Art". Timothy Murray, Professor of Comparative Literature and English, Cornell University Haldeman 41
11:30 - 12:00 PM Lightning Rounds (Innovative Digital Humanities Projects) Haldeman 41
12:00 - 1:00 PM Lunch and Project Demonstrations Haldeman 31
1:00 - 2:30 PM "Photo Fakery in the Digital Age". Hany Farid, The William H. Neukom Distinguished Professor of Computational Science, Dartmouth College Haldeman 41
  "Archimedes in Bits: The Digital Presentation of a Write-Off". William Noel, Curator of manuscripts and rare books, The Walters Art Museum, Baltimore Haldeman 41
2:30 - 2:45 PM Break  
2:45 - 4:15 PM "Planned Obsolescence: Publishing, Technology, and the Future of Academy". Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Associate Professor of English and Media Studies, Pomona College, CA Haldeman 41
  "Laura C. Haystack, SL Avatar and the Perils of Tenure". Laura Mandell, Professor of English, Miami University Haldeman 41
4:15 - 4:30 PM Break  
4:30 - 5:30 PM Roundtable Discussion: "The Digital Humanities: Support, Collaboration, Publishing, Tenure." Participants: Kate Conley, Doug Sery, Tim Murray, Laura Mandell, Tom Streeter Haldeman 41
5:30 - 6:30 PM Wine and Cheese Reception Haldeman Lower Level Lobby



The tiltfactor PLAYCUBE will be parked outside the Rockefeller Center after the Symposium. Drop by to experience "Virtual Cinema Show," a showcase of student-produced machinima films.


Program Committee

The program committee is comprised of (in alphabetical order) Jaime Combariza (Research Computing), Mary Flanagan (Film & Media Studies), Anthony Helm (Arts & Humanities Resource Center), Jay Satterfield (Dartmouth College Library), David Seaman (Dartmouth College Library), John Wallace (Research Computing), and Mark Williams (Film & Media Studies)


We would like to acknowledge the generous support we've received from the Sherman Fairchild Professorship in Digital Humanities, the Neukom Institute, Research Computing, Dartmouth College Library, and the Leslie Center for the Humanities