Skip to main content



  • Save & Share:
  • Bookmark on
  • Submit to Digg!
  • Share on Facebook
  • Bookmark on Google
  • Post to MySpace
  • Share with Reddit
  • Share with StumbleUpon
  • Email & Print:
  • E-mail this
  • Print this

The Dartmouth Association of Alumni annual election for Executive Committee officers and members runs through May 6, 2009. Alumni are also encouraged to vote on a proposed amendment to the Association of Alumni constitution. Results will be announced at the Association of Alumni annual meeting on Saturday, May 9. Click here to learn more.

wright(Photo by Joseph Mehling '69)
President James Wright has been honored by the Dartmouth Club of Washington, D.C., with a Daniel Webster Distinguished Service Award. President Wright, the first non-alumnus to be chosen, was selected for his efforts visiting wounded soldiers at Bethesda Naval Hospital and Walter Reed Army Medical Center, promoting educational opportunities for veterans, and advocating for the new GI Bill. "My work with veterans has been its own reward, but this unexpected presentation with so many Dartmouth friends in the room was very special to me," says Wright. (Click here to read more about the award.)

President Wright will take readers' questions in the June issue of Dartmouth Life, the final issue of his tenure. Click here to send your question—about his presidency, his thoughts on the future of the College, or his ongoing projects such as veterans' education.

Samuel D. Ostrow '67 and Nancy Kepes Jeton '76 are being honored with Dartmouth College Alumni Awards this spring in recognition of their involvement in civic organizations, career achievement, and extraordinary service to Dartmouth. Additionally, Lisa Koestner Mortell '95 is receiving the Dartmouth Young Alumni Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes outstanding volunteer service to Dartmouth. Click here to read more about these alumni.

brennanAll American Rosie Brennan '11 skies to a third-place finish in the 15K freestyle at the NCAA Championship. (Photo by Lincoln Benedict/EISA)

Recent sports news: Women's hockey finished the regular season as Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC) champions, but fell to top-ranked Wisconsin in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) quarterfinals. Women's basketball took its 17th Ivy title, but fell 82-53 to top-seeded Maryland in the first round of the NCAA Championship. Big Green basketball also doubled-up on Ivy League Player of the Year honors, as Alex Barnett '09 was named for the men-just the second Dartmouth player to earn the award-and Brittney Smith '11 for the women. Dartmouth's skiers followed another undefeated Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association (EISA) regular season with a seventh-place team finish-including eight top-10 individual results-at the NCAA Skiing Championship. Bob Ceplikas '78 has been named Acting Director of Athletics and Recreation, replacing Josie Harper, who will retire this year. In spring sports, lacrosse goalkeeper Julie Wadland '10 has been named to the 2009 Tewaaraton Award Watch List, the nation's preeminent award in lacrosse. The baseball team played the inaugural game at Dartmouth's new Red Rolfe Field at Biondi Park on April 1, winning 8-6 against Siena College. Biondi Park will be formally dedicated on April 24.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 1/14/10