Skip to main content


Sports Shorts

  • Save & Share:
  • Bookmark on
  • Submit to Digg!
  • Share on Facebook
  • Bookmark on Google
  • Post to MySpace
  • Share with Reddit
  • Share with StumbleUpon
  • Email & Print:
  • E-mail this
  • Print this
Transitions: Josie Harper, director of Athletics and Recreation since July 2002 and a member of the Athletics staff for nearly 27 years, has announced that she will retire on June 30. Harper, the first woman to hold the position of athletic director at any of the Ivy League schools, joined Dartmouth as the women's lacrosse head coach in 1981. Honored by Dartmouth in 1999 as a Wearer of the Green for her achievements in coaching at the national and international level, Harper is a member of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

harperJosie Harper (Photo by Joseph Mehling '69)
Harper has presided during a time of tremendous growth and facility upgrades for Dartmouth Athletics. "She has provided strong, distinguished leadership for an area of Dartmouth that has one of the highest student participation rates on campus and is deeply important to a great many members of the Dartmouth family," says President James Wright. "Throughout Josie's career, as a coach and an administrator, she has distinguished herself as one of those who educate men and women through athletics and help them fulfill their potential within and outside their sports."

"This is simply the right time to do this," Harper notes. "The capital campaign is coming to an end this December, a new president will be appointed, and I feel the department is in solid shape." Later this year, Dean of the College Thomas Crady will appoint an interim athletic director to serve for one year; a search for Harper's successor will begin during that interim period. Click here for more.

DMark Your Calendars: Get your tickets now to attend Dartmouth's sixth "Wearers of the Green" celebration on May 16 in Boston. More than 130 Big Green athletes and coaches will be honored. Honorary Wearers include President James and Susan DeBevoise Wright, John Engelman '68, Doug Floren '63, and the late Kathy Slattery Phillips. Register online at or call (603) 646-2292.


Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 1/19/10