Skip to main content


Presidential Search Committee

  • Save & Share:
  • Bookmark on
  • Submit to Digg!
  • Share on Facebook
  • Bookmark on Google
  • Post to MySpace
  • Share with Reddit
  • Share with StumbleUpon
  • Email & Print:
  • E-mail this
  • Print this


search committee
THE PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE  “Will have spent thousands of hours getting to know, in context, a small number of candidates extremely well,” says Trustee Al Mulley ’70, committee chair.  But “it’s always the Board’s decision.”  Members of Dartmouth’s Presidential Search Committee convene at a two-day session in Vermont, clockwise from bottom left: Joseph Helble, dean of Thayer School of Engineering; Jane Lipson, the Albert W. Smith Professor of Chemistry; Trustee Stephen Mandel Jr. ‘78; Mulley; Ed Haldeman ’70, chair of the Board of Trustees; Jonathan Skinner, the John Sloan Dickey Third Century Professor in the Social Sciences; Gretchen Holbrook Gerzina, the Kathe Tappe Vernon Professor in Biography and chair of the Department of English; Trustee Pamela Joyner ‘79; Sydney Finkelstein, the Steven Roth Professor of Management at the Tuck School of Business; Trustee Bradford Evans ‘64; Joyce DeLeo, professor of anesthesiology and of pharmacology and toxicology at Dartmouth Medical School; Kate Barry and John Isaacson ’68, of search firm Isaacson, Miller; Cheryl Reynolds, secretary to the Board of Trustees; Laura Hercod, assistant to the search committee; Martha Beattie ‘76, former chair of the Alumni Council’s Alumni Liaison Committee and past president of the Alumni Council; and Molly Bode ‘09, president of Student Assembly. Not pictured are Trustee Jose Fernandez ’77 and Trustee Peter Robinson ’79. (Photo by Gil Talbot)





Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 10/7/08