Skip to main content



Baseball wins Red Rolfe title

Dartmouth baseball captured its fourth Red Rolfe Division Title since 2000 and celebrated by playing in Hanover for the Ivy League Championship. Though the end result wasn't what they hoped for-they lost to Columbia in game three-the team finished the year 15-5 in the Ivy League and 25-17 overall. They now have the most conference wins of any Ivy League team since 2000.

Russell Young
Russell Young ′08 (Photo by Mark Washburn)

"Seasons often stand out for exceptional talent, or exceptional leadership, and this year we had both," says Head Coach Bob Whalen of his 20th year coaching. "The captains-Russell Young '08 and Damon Wright '08-had a huge impact." Whalen, who was recently named the New England Coach of the Year by the New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association, says the team demonstrated its grit by bouncing back to win the second games of two mid-season doubleheaders against Yale. "Those were grueling games, mentally and physically. When we ended the weekend with a split, we knew had a shot at winning the conference."

Young was named the conference and the team's Pitcher of the Year, and he also received Dartmouth's James A. Cook '71 Award, given to the senior who has done the most for Big Green baseball during his career. "It was the most enjoyable and exciting year that I have been a part of," says Young. He pitched six complete games, was 4-1 in conference play, and led the team with 55 strikeouts. Centerfielder Wright, meanwhile, was named the team's Most Valuable Player. Wright led the team with a .397 batting average and 60 hits. He stands at eighth all time for Dartmouth in both career average: .348, and hits: 172.

The campus atmosphere was electric for the championship on May 6 and 7. Additional seating was brought in for the more than 1,500 spectators (another 4,000 watched online) and Dartmouth students wore supportive green t-shirts that read "heckler." Thanking the fans for their support, Young says Dartmouth hosts "the only hostile environment in the Ivy League for opposing teams."

This was the last game to be played on the existing Red Rolfe Field, as it will have a full renovation this year including a new artificial turf, stadium seating, dugout, and other amenities.

Celebration of Athletic Excellence

Dartmouth honored 10 student-athletes at the College's annual Celebration of Athletic Excellence. Liz Mancuso '08, who overcame life-threatening cancer and went on to be one of the most successful swimmers in Big Green history, received the Kenneth Archibald Prize, presented to "the member of the graduating class who has been four years in attendance, who has been the best all-around athlete, regard also being had to moral worth and high standing in scholarship." The Class of 1976 Award for outstanding female athlete of the year went to Koren Schram  '09, women's basketball. Glenn Randall '09, cross country, track, and skiing, won the Alfred E. Watson Trophy for the finest male athlete of the year. Also honored were: Kara Pydynkowski '08, women's track and field, the Agnes B. Kurtz Award; Johnathan Ball '08, men's basketball, the Timothy Wright Ellis Award; Maggie Suydam '08, women's tennis, the Class of 1950 Award; Carli Clemis '09, women's ice hockey,  and Andrew Dete '09, football, the Class of 1948 Scholar-Athlete Award, given "to one male and one female of the junior class, who have combined outstanding performance in athletics and significant achievement in academics." The Charles Quincy Terrell Prize, given by the physical education department to the student who has made the most progress in his or her time with the program, went to  Shawn Hiner-Leamon '08. The Kenyon Jones Award was presented to  Mary Beth Westerman '08, recognizing her work developing the women's club lacrosse team.

Ultimate Team

Nicknamed the "Pain Train," the Dartmouth men's Ultimate Frisbee team enjoyed its most successful season ever this spring. The team not only qualified for the 2008 national championships-which it only did once before in 2003-but it pulled off a surprising upset over the higher-ranked team from the University of California at Santa Cruz (UCSC). In overtime play, Robin Meyers '10 caught a disc thrown by Owen Roberts '09, and Dartmouth was able to celebrate its first-ever win at the national level. "It was an incredible team effort," says co-captain Watson Sallay '08. "We were absolutely thrilled to win that game."  

Rugby takes Ivy League Championship

The Dartmouth Rugby Team won its 12th Ivy League Cup Championship when it defeated Harvard 41-0 on April 27. It was the first championship shutout in Ivy League history, and Dartmouth Rugby now holds the exalted position as the team with the most wins since the inception of the Cup in 1969. Dartmouth was especially dominant in the three games that made up the tournament, defeating Columbia (40-0) and Penn (64-0), to finish with an aggregate count of 145-0.

Rugby picture
Outside center Riley End ‘08 prepares to collide with a Harvard player in the Ivy League championship game, which Dartmouth won 41-0 for the first championship shutout in Ivy history. Co-captain and wing Drew Jennings ‘08 provides support. (Photo by Robert End '77)
Says Head Coach Alexander Magleby '00, "The team started its season the day after last season ended. They documented their aspirations, and how they were going  to go about enjoying the competition. It was long haul, but a tremendous experience."

Gordon Silvera '08, the tournament's Most Valuable Player, says the team "developed a swagger" after a mid-season match against Brigham Young University. "In the Ivies, we stepped onto the field like we were the rightful champions, and then played in a manner to prove it."


Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 6/23/08