Skip to main content


Stephen F. Smith '88 Elected Trustee

Stephen Smith '88
Stephen F. Smith '88

The Dartmouth College Board of Trustees has elected Stephen F. Smith '88 as a Trustee following a nomination vote by Dartmouth's alumni from a slate of four candidates.

Smith joins the Board on June 10, following Commencement ceremonies. He succeeds Nancy Kepes Jeton '76, who will step down in June after 10 years of service on the Board.

The Board of Trustees has ultimate responsibility for the financial, administrative, and academic affairs of the College, including long-range strategic planning, approving operating and capital budgets, managing the endowment, overseeing the educational program, leading fund-raising efforts, setting tuition and fees, and approving major policy changes. The Board currently consists of 18 members, including eight alumni Trustees nominated by alumni vote and elected by the Board, eight charter Trustees selected by the Board, the governor of New Hampshire (ex officio), and the president of the College. In November 2003, the Board voted to expand the number of seats to 22 over several years.

A total of 18,186 voters, 28 percent of alumni, cast 32,941 votes using the "approval" method whereby voters can vote for as many of the candidates as they wish. Smith received 9,984 votes. Voting took place both online and via paper ballot April 1 through May 15, and the process was managed by the Association of Alumni balloting committee.The other candidates were Richard L. "Sandy" Alderson '69, CEO of the San Diego Padres; Sherri C. Oberg '82, Tuck '86, CEO and co-founder of Acusphere Inc.; and Ambassador John S. Wolf '70, president of the Eisenhower Fellowships.

William H. Neukom '64, chair of the Board of Trustees, says, "The role of Trustee is both an extremely high privilege and a significant responsibility. The Board welcomes Mr. Smith and looks forward to serving with him to advance the good work of the College. I also extend my gratitude to all the candidates who participated in this important election."

President James Wright says, "I have known Stephen Smith since he was a student at Dartmouth, and I look forward to working with him to ensure that Dartmouth retains its preeminent position in the world of higher education." Wright went on to say, "I also would like to thank the three other distinguished candidates who ran for their willingness to serve Dartmouth and the many alumni/ae who participated in this election. Their ongoing engagement is an important strength of the College."

Smith says, "I came to Dartmouth in 1984 as an inner-city kid raised on welfare in Washington, D.C. To have the opportunity now to return as a Trustee to the College to which I owe everything is an honor beyond words. I look forward to repaying my debt by working tirelessly to ensure that Dartmouth will remain the best college in the world."

Smith is the John V. Ray Research Professor at the University of Virginia Law School and specializes in criminal procedure and constitutional law. Earlier in his career, he served as a law clerk at the U.S. Supreme Court for Justice Clarence Thomas. At Dartmouth he majored in history and philosophy and also played freshman football, enlisted in the Navy Reserve, and belonged to Sigma Nu fraternity. He serves on the YMCA and United Way boards in his community, and is involved in a number of other church and community service groups.


Alumni Association Executive Committee
Members of the Dartmouth College Association of Alumni have elected a new slate of officers and executive committee members. The results were announced at the association's annual meeting on Saturday, May 19. See a complete list of new officers and members.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 5/30/08