Skip to main content


Alumni Council Announces Trustee Candidates

After an extensive review of potential candidates, the Dartmouth Alumni Council has nominated a slate of three individuals for the alumni trustee seat on the Dartmouth College Board of Trustees opening in June 2007. The council's nominees include:

Sandy Alderson '69
Richard L. "Sandy" Alderson '69
Sherri Carroll Oberg '82, TU '86
Sherri Carroll Oberg '82, Tuck '86
John S. Wolf '70
John S. Wolf '70 (Photo by Havakuk Levison/Reuters)

Richard L. "Sandy" Alderson '69
Sandy Alderson is CEO of the San Diego Padres, a National League team of Major League Baseball. Alderson is a former marine and Vietnam veteran. He was affiliated with the Oakland A's for 17 years as general counsel, general manager, and president. He came to the Padres in 2005, after serving as executive vice president of baseball operations for Major League Baseball. Alderson is a member of the advisory board for the UC Berkeley Haas School of Business, a trustee of the California Historical Society, and former chair of the Board of Directors of Interplast, an organization providing reconstructive surgery for children in developing countries.

Sherri Carroll Oberg '82, Tuck '86
Sherri Oberg is cofounder, president, and CEO of Acusphere, Inc., a biotechnology company based in Watertown, Mass. A 2006 finalist for the Ernst & Young New England Entrepreneur of the Year Award, Mass High Tech: The Journal of New England Technology named her one of its 2005 All Stars in the biotech sector. This award recognizes the region's leaders in innovation economy. Oberg is a former director of the Massachusetts Biotechnology Council. She has been a member of the Tuck School of Business Board of Overseers since 1995, served on the Advisory Board for the Tuck Center for Private Equity and Entrepreneurship, and chaired Tuck's Task Force on Women in Business. She is a frequent guest lecturer at Tuck on entrepreneurship, strategy, technology, and private equity.

John S. Wolf '70
Ambassador John Wolf is president of the Eisenhower Fellowships, a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that fosters international understanding and cooperation by promoting exchanges of ideas and perspectives among emerging leaders throughout the world. It was created in 1953 to honor President Dwight D. Eisenhower. Prior to his appointment, Wolf served in the Department of State, joining the Foreign Service in 1970. He was Ambassador to Malaysia and to Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) in the 1990s. APEC is the premier forum for facilitating growth, cooperation, trade, and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. Most recently, he was assistant secretary for nonproliferation and chief of the U.S. coordinating and monitoring mission for the Middle East peace process. Wolf was a Mid-career Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University. He won the President's Meritorious Service Award in 1992 and 2000, and in 1993, the Department of State's Charles E. Cobb Jr. Award for Initiative and Success in Trade Development.

A ballot with the slate of candidates will be sent to alumni in April 2007.

Petition candidates may be added to the ballot provided they submit 500 original petition forms with signatures of Dartmouth alumni signed in ink other than black. Facsimile and electronic petitions cannot be accepted. The deadline for submitting petition forms is February 2, 2007.

To learn more about the nomination and petition process, or to download a petition form, please visit Vox the Vote.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 5/30/08