Part of the Botanical Society of America 's website.


Paleobotany Awards


Bibliography of American Paleobotany.



Sales items

Section reports

Officers and Bylaws

Paleobotany links


The Maynard F. Moseley Award was established to honor a career of dedicated teaching, scholarship, and service to the furtherance of the botanical sciences. The award is presented to the student who is the sole or senior author of a paper, orally presented in the sessions of the Developmental and Structural Section or Paleobotanical Section of the annual conference, that best advances our understanding of plant anatomy and/or morphology of vascular plants within an evolutionary context.

Previous award winners

  • 2003 Stefan Little, for his paper “Permineralized fruits of Lauraceae from the Middle Eocene Princeton chert, British Columbia.”

  • 2002 Tatyana Livshultz, Cornell University (Dev & Str section): "Comparative morphology and development of staminal coronas in Dischidia (Asclepiadoideae, Apocynaceae)"

  • 2001 Maria Von Balthazar, Univ Zurich (Dev & Str section) "Floral structure and phylogeny of Buxaceae" co-authored by Peter Endress.

  • 2001 Genaro Hernandez-Castillo (Paleo section) "Evidence from compound pollen cones in Paleozoic conifers" coauthored by Gar Rothwell and Gene Mapes.

  • 2000 Elizabeth J. Hermsen, Cornell: (Paleo sectinon) "A new fossil saxifragoid from the Upper Cretaceous of New Jersey" (with W. L. Crepet and K. C. Nixon).

  • 2000 Another person (Dev & Str section) (there were 2 awards given this year).

Return to Paleobotany Section Home page.

If you spot errors or have suggestions, please send a note toHongshan Wang or Chuck Daghlian.