Part of the Botanical Society of America 's website.


Paleobotany Awards


Bibliography of American Paleobotany.



Sales items

Section reports

Officers and Bylaws

Paleobotany links



Presentation of Prize

The Michael Cichan Award recognizes the best paper or book published in the last year on a topic that bridges the boundary between plant structure and plant evolution. The prize is to be judged by a committee of three members appointed by the Chair of the Section and is presented at the annual meetings of the Society. The prize does not have to be given every year.


  • 2002 Gar W. Rothwell.

  • 2001 No award given this year.

  • 2000 No award given this year.

  • 1999 Karen A. Renzaglia (Department of Plant Biology, Southern Illinois University) "Developmental ultrastructure of the male gamete of Selaginella" Co-authors on the paper are Douglas L. Bernhard and David J. Garbary.

  • 1998 No award given this year.

  • 1997 Brigitte Meyer-Berthaud - "A reinvestigation of Stenolyelon from the Late Tournasian of Scotland".

  • 1996 Jack B. Fisher and Frank W. Ewers - "Vessel dimensions in liana and tree species of Gnetum (Gnetales)".

  • 1995 Steven R. Manchester - "Fruits and seeds of the Middle Eocene nut beds flora, Clarno Formation, Oregon".

  • 1994 No award given this year.

  • 1993 Karl J. Niklas - "Plant Biomechanics".

  • 1992 Elisabeth A. Wheeler - "Paleocene dicotyledonous trees from Big Bend National Park, Texas".

  • 1991 Paul Kenrick - "The structure of water conducting cells in the enigmatic early land plants Stockmansella langii, Huvenia kleui, and Sciadophyton".

  • 1990 Joanne M. Dannenhoffer -" Rellimia thomsonii from the Givetian of New York: Secondary growth in three orders of branching".

Return to Paleobotany Section Home page.

If you spot errors or have suggestions, please send a note to Hongshan Wang or Chuck Daghlian..