Skip to main content

Council on Sponsored Activities



  1. To propose and endorse internal policies regulating the activities sponsored by agencies outside the College.
  2. To propose and endorse institutional positions in response to policies of external sponsoring agencies as they affect the College.
  3. To review periodically the scope and impact of sponsored activities in relation to institutional purposes.
  4. To propose and endorse institutional policies with regard to patents, copyrights, technology transfer, and the like.
  5. To submit a report to the General Faculty at the end of each academic year.


  • Provost
  • Executive Vice President for Finance
  • Director of Sponsored Projects
  • General Counsel
  • The Deans of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and the three Professional Schools or their duly appointed representatives
  • Two members appointed by the Steering Committee from the faculties of the Professional Schools
  • Two members from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences delegated from the voting membership of the Committee on the Faculty
  • The chair shall be appointed by the President from among the members

Current CSA Members

  • Dean Madden (Chair and Vice Provost for Research)
  • Mike Wagner (Executive Vice President for Finance - Representative)
  • Jill Mortali (Director of Sponsored Projects)
  • Lori Sostowski (General Counsel)
  • Elizabeth Smith (Dean of the Faculty)
  • Wes Benbow (Geisel Dean - Representative)
  • Tillman Gerngross (Thayer Dean - Representative)
  • Punam Keller (Tuck Dean - Representative)
  • Charles Sentmen (Delegate from Steering Committee of the General Faculty)
  • Keith Paulsen (Delegate from the Steering Committee of the General Faculty)
  • Mary Lou Guerinto (Delegate from the Committee on the Faculty)
  • Mike Ragusa (Delegate from the Committee on the Faculty)

Conflict of Interest Committee (COIC: sub-Committee of the CSA)

Faculty Members

  • John Butterly, Chair
  • TY Chang
  • Karl Griswold
  • Howard Hughes
  • Kevin Keller
  • Jon Lurie
  • Dan O'Rourke
  • Jack Van Hoff

Administrative Members

  • Liz Bankert, Director, Committee for the Protection of Human Subjects
  • Nila Bhakuni, Director, Dartmouth Technology Transfer
  • Henrike Frowein, Research Compliance Officer
  • Jill Mortali, Director, Office of Sponsored Projects
  • Jen Reining, Director, Hitchcock Foundation

Last Updated: 6/26/17