Skip to main content

Department of Classics

Dartmouth College
6086 Reed Hall Room 201
Hanover, NH 03755

(603) 646-3394

Classics.Department@Dartmouth.edu

 

Department Chair
Professor Roberta Stewart

Roberta.L.Stewart@Dartmouth.edu

 

Administrative Staff

 

Therese Perin-Deville (Administrator)

Therese.Perin-Deville@Dartmouth.edu

 

Leslie Barrow (Administrative Assistant)

Leslie.L.Barrow@Dartmouth.edu

 

Carol Bean-Carmody (Academic Assistant)

Carol.A.Bean-Carmody@Dartmouth.edu

 

Please join us on Facebook!

 

 

 

 

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Home

Michael Lurie

Michael Lurie

Assistant Professor
316 Reed Hall
603-646-1714
E-mail: Michael.Lurie@Dartmouth.edu

Curriculum Vitae (pdf)

  • Specializes in Greek literature and intellectual history of the archaic and classical periods
  • Greek tragedy and theories of tragedy, both ancient and modern; Plato's attitudes to 'tragic poetry'; Aristotle's Poetics
  • Traditions of pessimism in antiquity and their reception, especially in Leopardi, Nietzsche, and J. Burckhardt
  • Lucretius and his reception in early modern intellectual history, especially in the Radical Enlightenment
  • Reception of Greek literature and thought in European intellectual history, Renaissance to the present

Courses

  • Classical Studies 2: The Tragedy & Comedy of Greece and Rome - Spring 2015
  • Classical Studies 7: First Year Seminar - Spring 2015
  • Greek 24: Theater - Winter 2015

Please see Professor Lurie's home page

Last Updated: 7/15/14