Skip to main content

Department of Classics

Dartmouth College
6086 Reed Hall Room 201
Hanover, NH 03755

(603) 646-3394

Classics.Department@Dartmouth.edu

 

Department Chair
Professor Roberta Stewart

Roberta.L.Stewart@Dartmouth.edu

 

Administrative Staff

 

Therese Perin-Deville (Administrator)

Therese.Perin-Deville@Dartmouth.edu

 

Leslie Barrow (Administrative Assistant)

Leslie.L.Barrow@Dartmouth.edu

 

Carol Bean-Carmody (Academic Assistant)

Carol.A.Bean-Carmody@Dartmouth.edu

 

Please join us on Facebook!

 

 

 

 

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Home

Thomas G. Hendrickson

Thomas G. Hendrickson

Lecturer of Classics
Classics Department
316 Reed Hall
(603) 646-1714
E-mail: Thomas.G.Hendrickson@Dartmouth.edu

Thomas Hendrickson received his BA in Classics from the University of Minnesota and his MA and PhD from UC Berkeley. He has taught at Berkeley and at San Quentin State Prison. He spent the last two years in Italy, first as a Rome Prize fellow at the American Academy and then as a post-doctoral fellow at the Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa."

Hendrickson's primary field is Latin prose literature (especially biography and historiography), which he is particularly interested in using to illuminate Roman cultural and intellectual history. His interests in the Renaissance and the history of the book come together in his new edition of the De Bibliothecis of Justus Lipsius. His current project is a study of the commodification of books in the Roman world.

Areas of specialty

  • Ancient biography
  • History of the book
  • Ancient Italic languages (Faliscan, Oscan, Umbrian, South Picene)
  • Latin in the Renaissance

Last Updated: 9/10/14