Skip to main content

Department of Classics

Dartmouth College
6086 Reed Hall Room 201
Hanover, NH 03755

(603) 646-3394

Classics.Department@Dartmouth.edu

 

Department Chair
Professor Roberta Stewart

Roberta.L.Stewart@Dartmouth.edu

 

Administrative Staff

 

Therese Perin-Deville (Administrator)

Therese.Perin-Deville@Dartmouth.edu

 

Leslie Barrow (Administrative Assistant)

Leslie.L.Barrow@Dartmouth.edu

 

Carol Bean-Carmody (Academic Assistant)

Carol.A.Bean-Carmody@Dartmouth.edu

 

Please join us on Facebook!

 

 

 

 

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Ariane Schwartz

Lecturer of ClassicsAriane Schwartz
Reed Hall
(603) 646-3394
E-mail: Ariane.S.Schwartz@Dartmouth.edu

Curriculum Vitae (pdf)

Ariane Schwartz received her B.A. and M.A. in Classical Studies from the University of Pennsylvania in 2005 and received her Ph.D. in Classical Philology from Harvard University in November 2011. Her current book project, A Roman Remade: Horace in Early Modern Europe, provides a new understanding of the place of a classical, and distinctly Roman, author in the cultural foundations of modern Europe. It concentrates on the literary and philosophical boundaries that readers had to cross in order to understand Horace's ideas, and shows that a multiplicity of voices and influences -- from the ethical to the political, from the literary to the technological -- resisted each other in shaping Horace's early modern reception. Her scholarly interests are in Greek and Latin literature and cultural history as well as the history of reading and material texts.

Last Updated: 6/23/14