Skip to main content

Department of Classics

Dartmouth College
6086 Reed Hall Room 201
Hanover, NH 03755

(603) 646-3394

Classics.Department@Dartmouth.edu

 

Department Chair
Professor Roberta Stewart

Roberta.L.Stewart@Dartmouth.edu

 

Administrative Staff

 

Therese Perin-Deville (Administrator)

Therese.Perin-Deville@Dartmouth.edu

 

Leslie Barrow (Administrative Assistant)

Leslie.L.Barrow@Dartmouth.edu

 

Carol Bean-Carmody (Academic Assistant)

Carol.A.Bean-Carmody@Dartmouth.edu

 

Please join us on Facebook!

 

 

 

 

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Margaret Graver

Professor Margaret GraverProfessor of Classics
310A Reed Hall
(603) 646-2414
E-mail: Margaret.Graver@Dartmouth.edu

Curriculum Vitae (pdf)

Margaret Graver is Professor of Classical Studies at Dartmouth College. Educated at Brown University (Classics Ph.D. 1996) and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (BA 1982), she taught at Princeton University for one year before joining the Dartmouth faculty in 1996. She regularly offers courses in ethical thought in antiquity, Plato, Aristotle, Latin literature including Lucretius, Cicero, and Seneca, and on Latin and Greek language.

Margaret Graver's bookProfessor Graver is the author Stoicism and Emotion (Chicago, 2007 and 2009) and of Cicero on the Emotions: Tusculan Disputations 3 and 4 (Chicago, 2002), as well as of numerous articles on the ethical psychology of the Stoics and Epicureans. She is currently collaborating with Professor A.A. Long of the University of California-Berkeley, on a complete annotated translation of Seneca’s Moral Epistles.

Read a weblog interview about Stoicism and Emotion here.

Courses

  • Classical Studies 3: Reason and the Good Life: Socrates to Epictetus
  • Classical Studies 10: Rethinking the Divine
  • Greek 10: Readings in Greek Prose and Poetry
  • Greek 28: Philosophy
  • Greek 26: Intellectual Enquiry in Classical Athens
  • Latin 15: Literature and the Romans
  • Latin 20: Vergil

 

 

 

Last Updated: 3/27/14