Skip to main content
Home >

Center for Cognitive Neuroscience talk series

The CCN organizes a series of talks through the academic year by prominent investigators.

CCN speakers 2015-2016


Paul Whalen

January 25

Paul Whalen

Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Dartmouth College

Face to face with the emotional brain (abstract)

4:00pm, Moore Hall, Room 202

Whalen lab website

 Philippe Schyns

February 1

Philippe Schyns and Rachael Jack

Institute of Neuroscience and Psychology, University of Glasgow

Social face signals and their dynamic processing in the brain

4:00pm, Moore Hall, Room 202


 Rachael Jack  
Michael McCloskey

June 7

Michael McCloskey

Professor; Homewood IRB Chair, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences at Johns Hopkins

4:00pm, Moore Hall, Room 202

Cognitive Neuroscience lab website


Jim DiCarlo

August 15

Jim DiCarlo

Investigator, McGovern Institute; Department Head, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, MIT

4:00-6:00pm, Moore Hall, Filene Auditorium

DiCarlo lab website


August 15 

Nikolaus Kriegeskorte

Program Leader, Memory and perception group, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit

4:00-6:00pm, Moore Hall, Filene Auditorium




Previous CCN speakers

Sol Diamond, Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth, Hanover, NH

William Newsome, Professor of Neurobiology, Stanford University; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

David Foster, The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Department of Neuroscience

Michael Casey, James Wright Professor, Department of Music, Dartmouth College,  Hanover, NH

Brian Russ, National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, MD

Matt van der Meer, Department of Biology and Centre for Theoretical Neuroscience, University of Waterloo (now Dartmouth College)

Niko Kriegeskorte, National Institutes of Health (now MRC Cognitive Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge, UK)

Frank Tong, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN

David Leopold, National Instititutes of Health, Bethesda, MD

Kendrick Kay, University of California Berkeley (now Stanford University)

Tom Mitchell, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA

Winrich Freiwald, Rockefeller University, New York, NY

Michael Hanke, University of Magdeburg, Germany

Pawan Sinha, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

Simon Thorpe, University of Toulouse, France

Axel Scherer, Caltech, Pasadena, CA, and Thayer School of Engineering, Hanover, NH

Steve Hanson, Rutgers University, Newark, NJ

Hervé Abdi, University of Texas Dallas, TX

Pietro Pietrini, University of Pisa, Italy

Last Updated: 8/4/16