Skip to main content

New to Dartmouth?

Resources for:

Information Security

Connect with Computing

facebook twitter Wordpress Blog

Editing a File on Documentum

Within Documentum, files can be opened in read-only mode or in edit mode.

Opening a File in Read-only Mode

Navigate to where the file is you want to open and double click on it. When you have completed viewing the file, simply close the application window, not the Documentum window.

Opening a File in Edit Mode

In order to make changes to a file that resides on the Documentum server, you need to lock it so others cannot make changes to it at the same time you are making changes. This can be done in one of two ways: Check Out or Edit. When a file is checked out, other people who have the appropriate privileges to the file can view it in read-only mode. They will not be able to make changes to the file until the person who has it checked out checks the file back in.

  1. If you want to check a file out and make changes to it immediately, right click (Windows) or Ctrl+click (Macintosh) on the name of the file you want to edit, then select Edit from the menu that appears. The default application for the type of file you are editing (e.g., Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc.) will open with the selected file.

    If you want to prevent others from making changes to a file, but do not necessarily have changes you want to make immediately, right click (Windows) or Ctrl+click (Macintosh) on the name of the file you want to edit, then select Check Out from the menu that appears. In the lower-left corner of the Webtop window, a message will appear indicating the checkout was successful. A key icon will appear next to the file indicating the file has been checked out to you and no one else can make changes. If a file has a lock icon next to it, it means that someone else has the file checked out to them. When you want to make changes to the file, right click (Windows) or Ctrl+click (Macintosh) then click Edit.
  2. If you are editing a file, make the necessary changes to the file, saving it as you normally would within the application.
  3. When you are done making changes you need to check the file back in so it will be available to other people who want to make changes. To check a file in, right click (Windows) or Ctrl+Click (Macintosh) and select Check In.
  4. If you have made changes to this document and want it to be saved as another version, select a minor version change or a major version change, then click OK. If you only made minor changes to the file (e.g., typographical error), select to save it as the same version, then click OK
  5. In the lower-left corner of the Webtop window, a message will appear indicating the check in was successful. The file can now be edited by others with appropriate permissions to the file.

Note: You must check any file back in on the same computer it was checked out on.

Last Updated: 8/23/10