Skip to main content

Search this Site

DartPulse Alerts

"HeartBleed" Website Security

Java Upgrade

Windows XP Alert

 

DartPulse Outages

Overall System Status:

Upcoming Scheduled Outages

New to Dartmouth?

Resources for:

Information Security

Connect with Computing

facebook twitter Wordpress Blog
[an error occurred while processing this directive]Using >

Delete and Undelete Messages

After you have read a mail message and have decided you have no need for it, you should delete it to save disk storage on the servers and in your mailbox. You can select and delete messages one at a time, or you can choose Select All from the Edit menu and delete them all at once. If messages you wish to delete are in consecutive order, you can click the first message you wish to delete, hold down the [Shift] key and while continuing to hold down the [Shift] key, select other messages to delete. To select non contiguous messages, hold down the [Command] key on a Macintosh, or the [Ctrl] key on a Windows computer, while selecting the messages with your mouse.

Deleting Mail Messages

To delete a mail message from your In Box, do one of the following:

  1. Select the message(s) to be deleted and select Delete (Ctrl-D) from the File menu in the In Box window.
  2. Select and drag the message(s) to be deleted from the In Box to the Trash icon in the column on the left side of the BlitzMail window.
  3. Select and drag the message(s) to be deleted from the In Box to the Folders icon in the column on the left side of the BlitzMail window, and select the Trash folder.
  4. When the message is open, select Delete from the File menu.

On a Macintosh computer, deleted messages remain in the Trash until you select Empty BlitzMail Trash from the BlitzMail menu at the top of the screen, or until the default six-day expiration interval has passed (you may change the expiration interval). To delete messages immediately, select Empty BlitzMail Trash from the BlitzMail menu. On a Windows computer, right-click the Trash can icon and select Empty BlitzMail Trash, or select the Empty BlitzMail Trash from the BlitzMail menu at the top of the screen. You can set the expiration interval for the Trash folder to be whatever you wish. For example, click the Trash name in the Folders window and select the Expiration button. You'll see a dialog box like the one below. Enter a number and select the time interval from the pop-up menu as shown.

expire.jpg

You can also set BlitzMail to automatically empty the trash for you every time you quit (in the BlitzMail Preferences menu).

Top of page

Undeleting Messages

If you decide you need to keep a message after you have deleted it, you can retrieve it from the Trash as long as you do so before you select Empty BlitzMail Trash from the BlitzMail menu. Simply click the Trash icon in the column on the left side of the BlitzMail window. The Trash window will open, displaying the messages you have just deleted. Select the message(s) you want to return to the In Box and select Undelete from the File menu.

You can also select a message and drag it from the Trash window to the In Box icon, to the In Box window, or to the Folders window.

Note: You cannot retrieve (undelete) any messages after you have chosen Empty BlitzMail Trash from the BlitzMail menu at the top of the screen. However, since messages that remain in a BlitzMail account overnight are backed up on tape for 14 days, a Selective Load Request can be made by sending an e-mail to Help@Dartmouth.edu within that timeframe. If the time period for a Selective Load Request exceeds 14 days, the messages are not recoverable unless the sender has kept a copy.

Top of page

Last Updated: 8/18/10