Skip to main content

Storage of Personal Property

Storage is available on a first come, first served basis only for undergraduate degree candidates or special students who are actively enrolled at the College. Facilities are limited. All items placed in a storage facility must be clearly marked with the student's name, class year, and Hinman box. Anyone storing or removing another student's belongings without written permission from the owner of the belongings may be subject to a $100 fine and disciplinary action. Types of storage are listed below:

Controlled Storage

Students who are not enrolled for classes in Hanover and who will be away from campus may store personal property in Controlled Storage Areas as space permits.  These rooms are secured and insured against loss due to theft, fire or damage from moisture.  Damage to items improperly packaged or handled is not eligible for reimbursement.  Controlled Storage is open for drop-off and pick-up for at least three days at the start and end of each term.  For all other times during a term, Controlled Storage can only be accessed Monday-Friday (unless otherwise noted), by calling the Residential Operations Office at 646-1203 to schedule an appointment.  All appointments must be made at least one business day in advance.  The cost of storage is $11 per box or storage unit per term.  Students pay for the first term with cash, check or by billing their student account at the time that the items are placed in storage.  To pay in advance, or to pay with credit card or DASH, storage tickets can be purchased in the Residential Operations Office in North Massachusetts Hall.  Damage or loss of a box or storage unit will result in reimbursement on the item's depreciated value as determined by Dartmouth College.  The College will not be liable for an amount greater than $1,000 for any loss; furthermore, failure to accurately complete the Controlled Storage Application/Contract may void the College's liability.  The College reserves the right to refuse to store any box or item.

All boxes and other storage units must be retrieved within three weeks after a student returns to campus enrolled for classes.  There will be a $5 per unit, per week charge assessed for belongings left beyond the three-week period; skis and bicycles are the only exception to this expectation and may be stored while a student is on campus until the end of the term specified on his or her Controlled Storage Contract.  Furthermore, the College will not be liable for loss or damage to any unit stored longer than the three-week pickup period for normal belongings or the specified pickup term for bikes and skis.  Students who are separated from the College must remove their items immediately and graduating students may not store items in controlled Storage after graduating or their articles will be considered abandoned property and may be recycled or discarded.

Controlled Storage is located in the following residence halls:

  • Regular Belongings:  Andres, Bildner, Bissell, Channing Cox, Goldstein, Judge, Little, Maxwell, McCulloch, McLane, Mid Mass, New Hampshire, North Fayerweather, Russell Sage,  South Mass, and Wheeler
  • Furniture & Carpeting:  Andres, Bildner, Channing Cox, Maxwell, McLane, New Hampshire, and Russell Sage
  • Bicycles:  Bissell, Channing Cox, Maxwell, New Hampshire, and Russell Sage

For dates and times of open Controlled Storage areas and other information, please refer to the Controlled Storage Schedule.

Additional information is also available on the Controlled Storage Application/Contract which students must complete and sign when storing items.  These forms are available at each Controlled Storage site, or can be printed and completed in advance, then submitted to the attendant at the time of storage.  Students who print out the contract form in advance should be sure to take both copies with them to storage when storing items, and to keep a copy for their records.

Bicycle Storage

On a daily basis, registered bicycles may be kept in racks provided at each residence. Any unregistered bicycle found in the storage racks may be impounded, and any bicycle parked or stored in hallways, entryways, access ramps, stairways, or other accesses may be impounded and placed into Controlled Storage at the owner's expense and a $100 fire safety fine may be imposed. Bicycles unclaimed after six months will be discarded. Registered bicycles may be stored in designated Controlled Storage facilities for a fee of $11 per bicycle per term. Bicycles may be registered free of charge with the Department of Safety and Security.

Trunk Rooms

Trunk rooms are located in the basement of each residence hall. Students assigned to a particular hall may store their belongings in the Trunk Room at no cost while they are living in that hall. However, these are not secured areas, and Dartmouth College assumes no responsibility for missing, damaged, or stolen items. Suitcases, trunks, boxes containing unneeded items and empty boxes used for specific equipment such as computers, stereos or other electronic equipment may be stored. No other empty boxes may be stored.  Furniture, refrigerators and rugs may not be stored in the trunk room.  Periodically all abandoned and inappropriately stored items are removed from trunk and storage rooms and discarded. Students who will be off-campus for one or more terms must store their belongings either in Controlled Storage or an off-campus storage facility.

Last Updated: 10/25/16